6/7/2018 10:55:37 PM

    Progressive Conservative Leader Doug Ford is Ontario's next Premier. In an election where the results came in quickly, the party, led by the former Toronto city councillor, will form a majority Provincial Government. With 122 or 124 polls reporting in 74 seats have gone to the PC's with 40 to the NDP forming the official Opposition, just 7 to the Liberals with Kathleen Wynne resigning as Liberal Leader and the Green Party winning one seat. The Liberals had been in power since 2003, first under Ottawa MPP Dalton McGuinty, then since 2013 under Toronto MPP Kathleen Wynne. Locally in Lambton-Kent-Middlesex Monte McNaughton was successful in his re-election bid for another term winning by over 10,000 votes. With 69 of 77 polls reporting McNaughton has 55.08% of the vote with 26,306 votes, followed by the NDP's Todd Case with 15972 or 33.44% and Liberal Mike Radan with 3003 or 6.29%. Voter turnout in the riding one of the highest in recent memory at around 58.35%.

Back to News


Copyright 2013 StrathroyToday.ca. All rights reserved.

This site powered by PromoSuite Interactive